Our generation’s legacy

So it’s March 25th 2017, and at 8.30pm tonight we ask the world to turn out their lights for just one hour. We ask the world to come together and acknowledge the consequences of our everyday habits. Now I use the word “habits” and not “actions” there deliberately. We move through our daily lives with very little conscious knowledge of how our choices and behaviours affect the world we are living in. Why? Because we live in a world of instant gratification and concentrate on the here and now.

But this evening we ask that the world acknowledges that our careless behaviours have become habits, and that it is time. It is time to take a critical look at our almost unconscious behaviours and change them. For our children.

I spend a LOT of time worrying about my child’s future when I’m gone. He has disabilities and significant additional needs. Who will look after him when I am gone? It is only recently that I have realised that this should not be my only fear. 

What world will I be leaving behind for him to live in? 

Do you know it has hardly ever crossed my mind? I’m far too caught up in my own life story to think of the bigger picture. And I fully admit that. But it is a situation I can no longer deny.

So today I’m making a pledge. A promise to my son that I will change my unconscious behaviours. That I will take responsibility for the choices I make. And that I will go about my daily tasks with a picture of the world I want you to grow up in at the forefront of my mind. Because this change in behaviour to make our world a more sustainable place is not for me. It’s for you. And it’s worth every extra bit of effort I have to make to always remember my reusable grocery bags. To turn off any light in any room I’m not in. To compost food waste. And to limit my use of plastic. 

Convenience is no longer a good enough reason to destroy our planet that you will still be living in when I’m gone. 

I hope you read this one day and know that I realised what I was doing to the planet. And that it is NEVER too late to change.

Thanks for reading.

Danielle

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

