Too tired to try…

I’m exhausted. Mentally exhausted. It would seem trying to change my lifestyle to help our world repair itself and bloom is much more controversial than I could have ever imagined.

Every time I feel I have made a significant change, a change for the better, I come crashing down to reality. Because the debate on what is actually the best way to live a zero-waste life, or how to reduce your carbon footprint is a lively one. One where most people don’t agree.

I didn’t start this journey to get caught up in arguments. I didn’t decide to make the changes to the way I consume to be criticised by others who are apparently doing it better. I also didn’t realise how personally I would take this criticism. 

The I had a sudden realisation. This is an important milestone for me. A milestone that I must talk about. Because for the first time in the last in the last 3 months the words “why do I bother?” came into my head. And I was really surprised. I’ve been so motivated, so positive about my change in attitude that it hadn’t occurred to me how much negativity there was surrounding this subject. But why?

Because of passion. Because of the passion we all hold to do the right thing. And this is a good thing yes? It must be? 

It certainly is a good thing. But this passion must be harnessed and used to help grow the same passion in people who really don’t take into account the effects of their actions on this world. The minute we start becoming negative about other people’s attempts to live a greener life, we isolate whole gigantic groups of people who say “I don’t want to be part of this. This isn’t worth the hassle.”

The problem is that at present there is no one right answer to the amount of problems we have to leading a truly sustainable lifestyle. For example, I’m currently enagaged in a debate about whether it is better to buy plastic locally or use paper that has been shipped from china. We can’t recycle plastic, but what’s the carbon footprint from shipping a more environmentally friendly material from china?

When I started to write this blog it was from outrage. The wrong kind of passion rose from inside me. But as I have written this I see that people’s anger comes from their desire to do what is right. We just have to be careful not to push away those people who are considering a change in lifestyle because those who are truly passionate do not consider these people’s efforts enough, or worthy. 

Because in my mind, any effort, any change, no matter how small, is a step in the right direction. 

Thanks for reading. 

Danielle 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

